Reference Manager and Citation Generator

Zotero (pronounced "zoh-TAIR-oh") is an application (300 MB storage) that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, connects with your web browser to download sources, and best of all it's free!

Zotero will allow you to:

• Collect books, articles, videos, etc, and have them all in one location
• Easily create citations from databases and PITTCat+
• Tag your citations for greater searchability
• Attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations
• Enter citations and bibliographies, in many formats (MLA, Chicago, APA, etc.)
• Create in-text citations
• Share your research and references with a group

Download Zotero: Download and install Zotero from the Zotero website. (There's a different version for each operating system: Windows, Mac or Linux.)

Collect References: Connectors allow your web browser to save citations to your Zotero library. The Zotero downloads page should automatically detect what browser you're using and give you a link.

Create collections to organize your references. Collections are like file folders on your computer, but a reference can be in more than one collection at a time. To create a collection:

• Select "New Collection..." to create a new collection
• Subcollections can be created by right clicking a collection name
• Click and drag references to add them to collections and subcollections

To create a quick bibliography:

1. Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items.
2. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.
3. Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.

​Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.