Resources - Learn More - A Guide to Data and Technology in Agriculture - LibGuides at International Food Policy Research Institute

Print Books Available at IFPRI

Electronic Books Available at IFPRI

Where can I find peer reviewed works authored by IFPRI researchers?

Journals

The following journals are provided to IFPRI staff remotely, and have published at least 100 articles related to data use and technology in agricultural research. If you are unable to download an article, request one through IFPRI's ILL feature.

Where else can I learn more about data in agriculture?

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Data & Statistics, including diabetes and obesity.
County Health Rankings: County-level data, including healthy food outlets. This database ranks each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health. The county health rankings have an indicator under the “physical environment” section called access to healthy food. Links to other national and state level data are also provided.
Dataverse: The Harvard Dataverse Repository is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual Dataverse collection is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets.
Food Policy Resource Database: From the Food Policy Networks Project at the Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future (CLF). Includes policies, how-to guides, case studies and more, as well as a directory of food policy councils (FPCs) in the U.S., Canada, and First Nations.
Growing Food Connections Policy Database: A searchable collection of local public policies that explicitly support community food systems. Provides policymakers, government staff, and others interested in food policy with concrete examples of local public policies that have been adopted to address a range of food systems issues.
National Center for Health Statistics: Offers a variety of data by topic or geography.
SoilWeb: An Online Soil Survey Browser: Online soil survey data services from UC Davis, including phone apps. Can be used to access NRCS-NCSS 1:24,000 scale detailed soil survey data (SSURGO) in many parts of the lower 48 states.
US Bureau of Economic Analysis: Data such as personal income for select counties/regions available, including:
- Personal Income by County, Metro, and Other Areas
US Bureau of Labor Statistics -Statistics such as food consumption estimates for the county/region giving a basic food budget for residents of a county/region.
US Census: Variety of demographic and some geographic data from the US Census.
USDA
- Agricultural Research Service: ARS datasets
- Census of Agriculture: Farm and production characteristics data, including acreage devoted to agricultural, organic food production, value of commodities produced, and value of direct sales from farms to consumers. 2012 Census Ag Atlas Maps, NYS Census of Agriculture Data.
- Economics, Statistics and Market Information System: Reports and datasets from the economics agencies of the USDA. Materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics.
- Farm to School Census: Offers data at the national, state, and school district level.
- Farmers Market Directory: Designed to provide consumers with convenient access to information, including: market locations, directions, operating times, product offerings, accepted forms of payment, and more.
- Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS): Public health agency responsible for ensuring nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe and correctly labeled and packaged. Provides Meat, Poultry and Egg Product Inspection Directory, a listing of establishments (with address and other contact information) that produce meat, poultry, and/or egg products regulated by FSIS, including slaughter facilities.
- National Agricultural Library
  - Ag Data Commons, serves as registry and repository for USDA supported agricultural and related research data
- National Agricultural Statistics Service: Statistics and reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture, including production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers.

This box includes content adapted with permission from the Cornell University Library.

agINFRA is a European Commission funded initiative that aims to design infrastructure facilitating the management and access to agricultural data of various types, from a variety of sources, enabling existing search tools and data collections to better connect their data.
AgriProfiles: (formerly known as AgriVIVO) is a search portal giving access to profiles of experts and organizations in the field of agriculture, bridging across separately hosted directories and online communities.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO): FAO has a decentralized statistical system and statistical activities (outlined here) cover the areas of agriculture, forestry and fisheries, land and water resources and use, climate, environment, population, gender, nutrition, poverty, rural development, education and health as well as many others. The Databases and Software page lists several resources, including CLIMWAT a climatic database to be used in combination with the computer program CROPWAT, allowing the calculation of crop water requirements, irrigation supply and irrigation scheduling for various crops. Other specialized resources include:
- Agricultural Development Assistance Mapping (ADAM), a platform that gathers information from diverse databases about agricultural development needs, objectives, in-country activities, and funding modalities, and aggregates the data to generate customizable maps, matrices and charts.
- AGRIS a collaborative network of more than 150 institutions from 65 countries, maintained by FAO, promoting free access to agricultural information, including papers, data, statistics, and multimedia material.
- FAOSTAT: Provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. A national version, CountrySTAT, is being developed offering a facility to store data at the national and sub-national levels, and supporting two-way data exchange between countries and FAO.
- Global Agro-Ecological Zones (GAEZ) Data Portal has been designed to support sustainable management of natural resources for food and agriculture. It contains many features and capabilities including the ability to browse, query, visualize and download tabular and spatial datasets.
Global Open Data for Agriculture and Nutrition: Though not a data source in itself, the GODAN initiative seeks to support global efforts to make agricultural and nutritionally relevant data available, accessible, and usable for unrestricted use worldwide. It focuses on building high-level policy and public and private institutional support for open data.
Indiastat: Indiastat.com contains all the statistical available on its 56 associate websites.
International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) datasets
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) compiles a variety of statistical data.
- OECD iLibrary featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.
- OECD data portal provides tools for finding, comparing and sharing OECD data, including charts, maps, tables and related publications.
United Nations: Databases, including
- UN Comtrade allows tracking of various commodities across the world.
- UNdata - provides access UN databases through a single entry point.
World Bank Research and Data: National and international statistics, analysis, and advice on global trends in the world economy.
World Bank Development Indicators: Comprehensive database including 1,600 time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years.